IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

IN THE MATTER OF APPOINTMENT OF MERIT SELECTION PANEL REGARDING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF INCUMBENT MAGISTRATE JUDGE

PUBLIC ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

No. 24-AO-0001-P

Pursuant to the Federal Magistrates Act, 28 U.S.C. § 631, and the regulations of the Judicial Conference of the United States that establish standards and procedures for the reappointment of a United States Magistrate Judge, the court hereby appoints individuals who have significant ties to the community of the district as members of the merit selection panel that will consider the reappointment of Chief Magistrate Judge Kelly K.E. Mahoney, whose current term of office is due to expire on December 31, 2024.

The members of the merit selection panel are as follows:

- 1. Chairperson Jeana L. Goosmann—lawyer
- 2. David Ferris—non-lawyer
- 3. John Gray—lawyer
- 4. Jack Lammers—lawyer
- 5. Pat Parry—lawyer
- 6. Brent Pruehs—non-lawyer
- 7. Heather Quick—lawyer

Each member of the merit selection panel received written notice regarding the restriction on merit selection panel members being considered for a magistrate judge position.

The merit selection panel is directed to receive and examine comments from members

of the bar and the public regarding Judge Mahoney's character, judgment, legal ability, temperament, and commitment to equal justice under the law, and to consider other evidence of these factors when making a recommendation to the court regarding the reappointment or non-reappointment of Judge Mahoney for an additional 8-year term. The merit selection panel is directed to provide a written report to the court by no later than June 4, 2024.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED this day of March, 2024.

C.J. WILLIAMS CHIEF JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

Certified original placed in Public Administrative Order Book.

Copies disbursed this 6th day of March 2024 via email to:

Chambers of Chief Judge C.J. Williams (Sali Van Weelden)

Senior Judge Linda R. Reade

Chambers of Judge Leonard T. Strand (Donaline Schmith)

Chambers of Chief Magistrate Judge Kelly K.E. Mahoney (Jami Gollhofer)

Chambers of Magistrate Judge Mark A. Roberts (Amy Steele)

Paul De Young, Clerk of District Court

Misti Michel, Chief Deputy

Kristen Sanchez, Case Administration Supervisor

Amanda Hughes, Information Systems Manager

Lisa Feuerbach, Chief Probation Officer

Brad Hansen, Federal Defender

Tim Duax, US Attorney

helpdesk@iand.uscourts.gov for posting on the external NDIA website

Cathy May

Human Resources Specialist