You are here

How many federal judicial districts are there?

Courthouse FAQ

There are 94 federal judicial districts.  Iowa has two federal judicial districts: the Northern District of Iowa and the Southern District of Iowa.  See 28 U.S.C. § 95.  The 94 federal judicial districts are organized into 12 regional circuits, each of which has a court of appeals.  The Northern District of Iowa is included in the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals.  The number of federal judgeships authorized for each federal district is set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 133.  The Northern District of Iowa has two judgeships.  The number of judgeships authorized for each circuit is set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 44.  The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals has 11 judgeships.  



FAQ Tag Type: 
Court-Federal Courts